Gray Quarry Mud.. Is it it safe?

Sink Into On-Topic Discussions
quickchi21

Gray Quarry Mud.. Is it it safe?

Postby quickchi21 » Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:56 am

I’m still relatively new to sinking and read about how amazing quarries are so I knew I had to check one out. Well, I recently struck gold and found a relatively safe and lowkey quarry with an amazing and deep settling pond of thick, dense, and creamy clay. This clay is seriously so thick and heavy. I only sank to about the middle of my thighs and stayed close to the edge though since I was kinda worried. Which is honestly a really good decision because getting out was a serious ordeal. I leaned back to try and float my legs up and they would not move up, like at all. I had to literally dig my legs out. I’m definitely planning on going back this time with a rope/stick and I’m going to plan on venturing out further into the middle and letting myself sink even deeper. Only thing that I’m worried about though is if the contents of the mud are even safe for me to be sinking in? This quarry is a concrete quarry and features I’m pretty sure (I could be wrong) limestone rock that is processed into a creamy clay. The color is a really light gray and I’ve read on here to avoid gray quarry mud and only stick to brown mud. However the area I live in every single quarry has the gray mud and there really is no brown quarry mud around me. (Northern Illinois) Would sinking in this mud really be that bad? I wear thick clothes/shoes and gloves so Im not really worried about getting injured from sharp rock however I am worried about breathing in silica dust or other harmful substances. Am I just over reacting lol? I also am thinking about just wearing a mask to calm my anxieties lmao. What do you guys think? I added some screenshots from a video I took and from a google maps satellite view. Am I overreacting or would it be wise to just stay away from the gray mud quarries and wait till the rivers dry up from all this annoying sp