A little "Heads Up" on Chester, Illinois....

Sink Into On-Topic Discussions
EVysther

A little "Heads Up" on Chester, Illinois....

Postby EVysther » Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:18 am

Hey all -

Lisa & I were out in St. Louis for a extended weekend towards the end of September, and, as part of it, we stopped by in Chester for a quick peek - no sinking, too cold and the river was at 24' - but we ran into a few locals who gave us some distressing news...

Apparently, the local railroad is trying to buy up all the land where all that great mud and QS is by Mary's River - from what this guy told us, they already bought the gravel road that leads up to the tracks...I'm no legal expert by any stretch but I find this a bit improbable...people fish, boat, swim, hike, camp, waterski, dirt bike and all sorts of recreational stuff out there - including our little pastime, but I digress...in all seriousness, what are they going to do, 24 hour cops monitoring the area?? It just sounds absurd, sorry.

Oh, I'm certain someone will try it, but how are you going realistically to enforce it? Anything is possible in this day and age and perhaps I'm too naive or optimistic - take your pick - but I just wanted this out there just in case it comes to pass so everyone has a fair warning.
Eric Vysther

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery -
today is a gift...that's why it's called the present!
"

Nessie
Producer

Re: A little "Heads Up" on Chester, Illinois....

Postby Nessie » Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:16 am

No!!!